It seems every day in Norway changes the way I think about the world. In the morning I may read an excerpt from a Gary Younge novel criticizing one-sided integration policies in preparation for the discussion in our Peace Seminar. Before lunch I attend my International Politics course where I learn ways to better understand how states interact in both a historical and contemporary context.

Afternoons may vary between taking a ferry to an island beach to go swimming or discovering my appreciation for visual art at the National Gallery or the Munch Museum. Every few days the burden of decision is lifted from our shoulders as we have a scheduled visit to one of the many organizations around Oslo that work to better the lives of others through social and political change. For me, these afternoons have been some of the most evocative since my arrival to the Scandinavian Peninsula.

Visiting and learning from Henrik Syse, a member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, and Tyler Hauger of The Karibu Foundation, a group that challenges the norms of humanitarian efforts by supporting the too-often-overlooked voices of the Global South in the fight for justice and equality, has transformed an international educational experience into so much more. The fullness of this experience has helped me feel more connected to and aware of those with whom I share this human experience.

Nathan Campbell

Comments are closed.