Casey Regnier

Getting to Know Serendipity

As a natural science major I’m trained to observe, predict, and analyze. Friday, June 26th, however, forced me to escape my systematic shell and embrace the unpredictable.

On a sunny Friday afternoon in Oslo, Norway some Peace Scholars and I found ourselves indoors, listening to a talk about the history of homophobia in Europe in a downtown museum. Although the session lasted only a brief hour, the conversation between the speakers and the audience was rich with thought-provoking dialogue. As the session came to a close, a fellow Peace Scholar quickly checked her phone for any new notifications. When she peered up from her phone, she had a huge grin on her face as she stated, “ the Supreme Court legalized same sex marriage!”. I quickly turned to my friends as our faces lit up with pride and joy. Many of us threw our arms up in the air with excitement to celebrate equality. After our initial celebration we walked down the main street in Oslo, where it just so happened to be Pride week. We soaked in the positive vibes and radiated with happiness as we passed several hundred rainbows.

As a natural science major I’m trained to observe, predict, and analyze. Friday, June 26th, however, enabled me to break free of my objective one-track mind and echoed the many serendipitous moments that I’ve experienced during my time here in Norway.

Comments are closed.